Unencrypted | Login

Task Group No. 194 - Simulation Training for Medical Physicists and Impact on Procedure Outcome

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information


The task group will develop simulation training methods for certain high risk radiation oncology physics activities, focusing initially on:

  1. Stereotactic radiosurgery and hypofractionated radiotherapy (cranial and extra-cranial),
  2. Prostate seed implant brachytherapy,
  3. High dose rate remote afterloading brachytherapy, and
  4. Linac commissioning.

The first three procedures were selected since an error in such short time duration procedures has a much high probability of harm to the patient because of the reduced error detection time. Similarly, linac commissioning will impact all patient treatments and thus are a greater risk.

Bylaws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Approved Date(s)Start: 9/23/2009
Committee Keywords: TG194
Most recent status update:Document is in final edit stage. Will be sent to JACMP for publication. - [11/6/2015 by Daniel Pavord] Click to update.
Board of Directors  [Status]
Professional Council  [Status]
Clinical Practice  [Status]
TG194 - Simulation Training for Medical Physicists and Impact on Procedure Outcome  [Status]
» Active Task Group listing

Michael Schell
Task Group Chair

Daniel Pavord
Task Group Co-Chair

2016 Roster

(dates shown below are beginning date of position) View 2017 Roster

There are 9 members and guests.
=complete and up-to-date, =complete, out-of-date, =incomplete conflict of interest statement.
VOTING Appointments
Andrew W. Beavis, PhD

9/23/2009  Member (nonvoting) 7/30/2014  Member
Derek W. Brown, PhD

7/23/2012  Member
Peter B. Dunscombe, PhD

7/23/2012  Member
Terrance A. Harms, MS

7/23/2012  Member
Daniel C. Pavord, MS

7/24/2012  Task Group Co-Chair
Michael C. Schell, PhD

9/23/2009  Task Group Chair
Yan . Yu, PhD

7/30/2014  Member
NON-VOTING Appointments
Michael Milano

8/25/2014  Guest (nonvoting)
Michael O'Neill

8/25/2014  Guest (nonvoting)

STAFF Appointed to Committee

There are 1 staff.
Fairobent, Lynne A  

1/1/2011  AAPM Staff - Government Relations Manager (ex officio, nonvoting)