Encrypted | Login

The AAPM WG on Standardization of CT Nomenclature and Protocols receives the CDRH Director’s Special Citation Award

AAPM Working Group Recognized by the FDA

AAPM WGCTNP representative members just after FDA award ceremonyOn Monday, June 10, 2013, the Director of the Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) arm of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Jeffrey Shuren, M.D., J.D., awarded the AAPM Working Group on Standardization of CT Nomenclature and Protocols the CDRH Director’s Special Citation Award. This award was presented “For developing CT imaging radiation safety instructional materials through a collaboration of end-users, CT manufacturers, and the Food and Drug Administration.” One of the co-chairs of the working group, Dianna Cody, Ph.D., was on hand to accept this award on behalf of the team. Also present were working group members Thalia Mills, Ph.D., Brian Abraham, M.P.A., and Donald Fickett, B.Tech.

The FDA award description is shown below:

In 2010, FDA released an "Initiative to Reduce Unnecessary Radiation Exposure from Medical Imaging", which targets high dose imaging modalities including CT. A key partner in following through on the goals of this Initiative has been the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) Working Group on Standardization of CT Nomenclature and Protocols. Meeting bi-weekly since 2010, the group has worked tirelessly to advance CT radiation safety through publication of publicly available resources on the AAPM website (http://www.aapm.org/pubs/CTProtocols/).

At the request of FDA and CT manufacturers, the group has taken on work beyond its original charge of nomenclature and protocol standardization to help advance shared dose reduction goals. Examples include publication of recommendations on how to use the NEMA CT Dose Check standard and contributions to the draft NEMA CT User Information Standard (released for comment Nov. 2012), which was developed in response to FDA's Nov. 2010 letter to the Medical Imaging and Technology Alliance (MITA) following the CT brain perfusion safety investigation. Other workgroup accomplishments in 2012 include: publication of 3 new CT protocols, publication of the CT Dose Education slides, and an updated CT lexicon, which translates nomenclature across different manufacturers' systems.

The effect of these efforts has been to improve public health by optimizing the dose of ionizing radiation during CT scans and by helping to eliminate accidental radiation overdoses during CT scanning.

The group is an outstanding example of what can be accomplished through collaboration of key stakeholders. The group includes medical physicists, radiologists, radiologic technologists, industry representatives, and regulators, from AAPM, the American College of Radiology (ACR), the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT), the Society for Pediatric Radiology (SPR), the Image Gently Alliance, the Medical Imaging and Technology Alliance, from all 7 U.S. CT manufacturers, and from the FDA.

Substantial effort was required by several in key upper level management positions at the FDA in order for the award to be bestowed. Congratulations to all who were recognized! The official list of recipients is shown below along with their affiliation.

AAPM WGCTNP representative members just after FDA award ceremonyBrian Abraham (MITA)
Mark Armstrong (ACR)
Kirsten Boedeker (Toshiba)
Theresa Branham (ACR)
Priscilla F. Butler (ACR)
David Clunie (AAPM)
Dianna Cody* (AAPM)
Amar Dhanantwari (Philips)
Donald Fickett (AAPM)
Marilyn J. Goske (Image Gently)
Dustin Gress (AAPM)
Michael Heard (AAPM)
Dina Hernandez (ACR)
John Jaeckle (GE)
Farhana Khan (AAPM)
James Kofler (AAPM)
Christianne Leidecker (Siemens)
Virginia Lester (ASRT)
Richard Mather (Toshiba)
Cynthia McCollough* (AAPM)
Michael McNitt-Gray (AAPM)
Keith Mildenberger (Neusoft)
Thalia T. Mills (FDA)
Catherine Neumann (Hitachi)
Kevin O'Donnell (DICOM)
Mark Olszewski (Philips)
Robert Pizzutiello (AAPM)
Karen Procknow (GE)
Gail Rodriguez (MITA)
Daniel Rubin (Radlex/RSNA)
Mark Silverman (Hitachi)
Mark Supanich (AAPM)
Sjirk Westra (Image Gently)
Lifeng Yu (AAPM)