2018 Board - President: William Sensakovic, President-Elect: Omar Zeidan, Past President: Matthew Studenski, Secretary: Phillip Patton, Treasurer: Kyle Padgett, Board Representative: Kathleen Hintenlang

Chapter Beginnings

What was to become the Florida AAPM chapter began in the early 1980s as Florida physicists met once or twice a year at the University of Florida for Nuclear Engineering lectures organized by Genevieve and Chuck Roessler. The lectures had a Health Physics emphasis, with medical physics represented by Lawrence Fitzgerald. By the mid-80s, attendees added Farmer chamber intercomparisons to the gathering using nearby Co-60 machines, and the meetings began to occur at regional hospitals and medical centers. In 1987, Daljit Saini and Bill Simon from Sun Nuclear hosted a fullday meeting at Holmes Medical Center in Melbourne, FL, the first meeting with vendor support (six vendors for that first meeting).

By the late 1980s, the group had grown larger yet, and became an AAPM chapter in 1990. The first formal Florida AAPM chapter meeting was held in Tampa, FL in 1991, with Bill Huff as President and Daljit Saini as President-Elect.



Greeting sign for 1989 annual meeting. Faiz Khan, Ph.D. (AAPM President at the time) was the featured speaker, and recommended the formation of a Florida chapter.

1990s

Throughout the 1990s, chapter meetings were held in the Spring and included current professional topics (e.g. HDR was the new thing at that time), panel discussions on licensure for Florida medical physicists (license law passed in 1997), and presentations by University of Florida graduate students in medical physics.

Early 2000s

In 2001, a Fall meeting, held jointly with the Florida chapter of the Health Physics Society, was added to the chapter's annual schedule. Meanwhile, the licensing of Florida medical physicists included a requirement for 24 hours of continuing education during each two-year license cycle. Florida chapter meetings became a cost-effective way to earn all required credits needed for licensure, although the AAPM Annual meeting remained a popular CE choice as well. In the late 2000s, Florida added requirements for an hour each of Medical Errors and of HIV/AIDS training for each license cycle, making the Florida chapter meeting even more important for members. Changes in ABR board certification policies, especially Maintenance of Certification (MOC) compelled the Chapter to adapt. FLAAPM began to offer CAMPEP accreditation for its meetings in 2007, and offered Self-Assessment Modules (SAMs) in 2008.



Lawrence Fitzgerald, Ph.D., for whom the Florida AAPM Chapter annual award for Best Student Presentation is named.



2018 Fitzgerald Award winner Nicholas Potter from The University of Florida.

2010 and Beyond

The Florida chapter has grown immensely in numbers and activity from its humble beginnings. The 1.5 day Spring chapter meeting is the main meeting event of the year, drawing well over 100 attendees and more than thirty vendors. This meeting also boasts a strong student research session including a competitive session of oral presentations vying for the Fitzgerald Award which is given to the best presentation each year. Each Fall, a one day meeting is also held. Often this is a joint meeting with the Florida Health Physics Society. In total, the chapter offers about twenty four license CE credits each year, including the all-important and otherwise elusive credits for Medical Errors and HIV/AIDS (licensure requirements in Florida). The chapter website includes SAM presentations and credits for chapter members and for a large number of out-of-state MOC participants. The Florida chapter also continues to engage in the legislative process concentrating on issues which will impact Medical Physicists.

ı	<u>Year</u>	Past President	<u>President</u>	President-Elect	Board Rep	<u>Secretary</u>	<u>Treasurer</u>
	1990		Huff	Saini	Noriega	Ferras	Ferras
	1991	Huff	Saini	Wedding	Noriega	Ferras	Ferras
	1992	Saini	Wedding	Ferras	Noriega	Ferras	Ferras
	1993	Wedding	Ferras	Coleman	Deurkas	Long	Long
Ī	1994	Ferras	Coleman	Long	Deurkes		
	1995	Coleman	Long	Landers	Huff	Ferras	Ferras
Ī	1996	Long	Landers	Bova	Huff	Ferras	Ferras
	1997	Landers	Bova	Noriega	Huff	Ferras	Ferras
Ī	1998	Bova	Noriega	Masterson	Miller	Mazzara	Mazzara
	1999	Noriega	Masterson	Duerkas	Miller	Mazzara	Mazzara
Ī	2000	Masterson	Duerkes	McNerney	Miller	Mazzara	Mazzara
	2001	Duerkes	McNerney	Serago	Bova	Atherton	Landers
Ī	2002	McNerney	Serago	Ouhib	Bova	Atherton	Landers
	2003	Serago	Ouhib	Seddon	Bova	Atherton	K.Hintenlan
	2004	Ouhib	Seddon	Pooley	Bova	Cashon	K.Hintenlan
	2005	Seddon	Pooley	Atherton	Serago	D.Gilley	K.Hintenlan
	2006	Pooley	Atherton	D.Hintenlang	Serago	Wagner	K.Hintenlan
	2007	Atherton	D.Hintenlang	Meeks	Serago	Wagner	K.Hintenlan
	2008	D.Hintenlang	Meeks	Waugh	Seddon	Wagner	Shah
	2009	Meeks	Waugh	Wagner	Seddon	Howley	Shah
	2010	Waugh	Wagner	Arreola	Seddon	Howley	Shah
	2011	Wagner	Arreola	Bova	Meeks	Howley	Shah
	2012	Arreola	Bova	Shang	Meeks	Howley	Shah
	2013	Bova	Shang	Staton	Meeks	Howley	Shah
	2014	Shang	Staton	K.Hintenlang	Pooley	Howley	Bossart
	2015	Staton	K.Hintenlang	Willoughby	Pooley	Howley	Bossart
	2016	K.Hintenlang	Willoughby	Studenski	Pooley	Patton	Bossart
	2017	Willoughby	Studenski	Sensakovic	K.Hintenlang	Patton	Padgett
	0040	01 1 1	0 1	7-!	IZ I IIt	D-11	D 1 11



In 2003, the Chapter created the Walter Mauderli award for lifetime achievement in medical physics education, research, and service. Here, recipients of the Mauderli Award attend the Spring 2010 Florida AAPM Chapter meeting in Orlando, FL. (L-R, Frank Bova, Ph.D., Rick Morin, Ph.D., Libby Brateman, Ph.D., Chris Serago, Ph.D.).



Presentation of the 2015 Mauderli Award to William Huff, Ph.D. (the first Chapter President) for lifetime achievement in the field of medical physics in the State of Florida.



Spring 2018 Night In at the Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort in Orlando, FL.







