

The Radiological and Medical Physics Society of New York RAMPS 1948 - 2016

The Earliest Organization of Medical Physicists in the United States



History of RAMPS

During the mid 1940's, physicists associated with medical institutions in the metropolitan New York City region commenced meetings to compare instrumentation and their measurements of the quantity of radioactivity in solutions in medical use. This was necessary for uniformity, and also for accuracy since the national standard available appeared to be inconsistent. This was just prior to the availability of megavoltage x rays and electrons, and the primary concern of the physicists was associated with the uses of radioactive nuclides. The clinical uses of jodine-131 and other radionuclides (phosphorus-32, yttrium-90, etc.) were being actively explored and agreement on the amount of activity being administered was essential. Such measurements led to the "New York Millicurie," which

By 1948 the meetings of these medical physicists were on a scheduled basis with elected officers and records. Those initially active in RAMPS included Mones Berman, Hanson Blatz, Carl Braestrup. Giacchino Failla, Sergei Feitelberg, Elizabeth Focht, Hiram Hart, Lillian Jacobson, Robert Loevinger, Leo Marinelli, Eleanor Oshry, Edith Quimby, Edward Siegel, Aaron Yalow, Rosalyn Yalow, and others. This group established the measurement procedure for the "New York Millicurie," and their meetings served both scientific and professional functions. A constitution was written in 1954 by R. Yalow and J. Laughlin, and revised in 1957 by them. RAMPS has continued to grow from its modest beginning to a current membership of about 150 and conducts monthly meetings which are well attended. Their meetings usually include scientific presentations by a member or guest on physical aspects of treatment, diagnosis, nuclear medicine, or protection, Also, a symposium on a pertinent scientific topic is held annually. RAMPS welcomed the initiation of the AAPM and became a chapter in it.

Rosalyn Yalow,

Founding Member of

RAMPS and Charter

Member of AAPM,

received the 1977

Nobel Prize for

hysiology or

/ledicine

From J. S. Laughlin and P. N. Goodwin: History of the AAPM 1958–1998, Medical Physics 25(7, part 2): 1240-1241; 1998. Reproduced here with the permission of the AAPM



American Association of Physicists in Medicine was established 10 years later **RAMPS Presidents** Laughlin John Laughlin became Schulz 1968 the President of AAPM

Iohn Robert Hiram Hart 1969 Colin Orton 1971 1973 Gerald Shapiro St. Germain 1974 1975 Morris Hodara Astarita 1976 Harry 1977 Salvatore Vacirca 1978 Paul Goodwin Rothenberg 1979 Lawrence Christopher Marshall 1980 Mortimer Heller Chan Arthu Olson Maynard High lames Summers Schoenfeld

Mastersor Edward Nickoloff Belanich Susan Barish-Brownie Yakov Pipman Fontenla Gerald Kutcher Richard DeWyngaer J. Keith James Galvin C. Clifton Ceferino Ohcemea Lowell Anderson Stephen Ralter Mark Relanich John

Lief

Mageras

Burman

Wuu

Chang

Sabbas

Cohen

Petrone

Lovelock

Della Biancia

J. Keith

Veh Chi

Eugene

Chandra

Jenghwa

Albert

Gil'ad

Cesar

Thomas

Michael

Cheng-Shie



2005

2008

2009

2010

2011

2012

2013

2014

2006-07





In 1968, in order to assist the training of residents in the various radiological physics specialties, RAMPS appointed a committee to prepare an examination on radiological physics. This examination was administered on a voluntary basis to radiological residents in the New York City area at a session held at the New York Academy of Medicine with the cooperation of the New York Roentgen Ray Society. The response was so enthusiastic that this examination has become an annual event. It is now being used throughout the United States through the courtesy of RAMPS and of the AAPM. In recent years, separate examinations for Diagnostic Radiology and Radiation Oncology have been produced. Teaching has always been an important activity of the medical physicist in his/her institution and the establishment of this examination procedure was a method of assisting the education of residents in the physical aspects of radiology



25th Anniversary, NY Academy of Sciences



m left: Edith Quimby, Shirley Quimb



From left: Saul Harris, Joyce Davis, Shirle

Major Awards to RAMPS Members

lohn S.	Laughlin	1974	
Edith H.	Quimby	1977	
Lowell L.	Anderson	2000	
C. Clifton	Ling	2004	

AAPM Quimby Lifetime Achievement Award

awrence N.	Rothenberg	2007		
ames M.	Galvin	2008		
awrence E.	Reinstein	2009		
loward I.	Amols	2014		
dward L.	Nickoloff	2014		
Vendell R.	Lutz	2016		
Marvin MD Williams Professional Achievement Award				

1992 John S Laughlin Edward I Nickoloff 2008 lean M St. Germain 2015

AAPM Officers from RAMPS President Laughlin John S Lawrence N Rothenberg Amols

Marshall

Christopher H

Howard I. 2005 Secretary St Germain 1985 Jean M

54th Anniversary of the Failla Memorial lecture

RAMPS, in conjunction with the Greater New York Chapter of the Health Physics Society, holds the Annual Failla Lecture The lecturer is an internationally known expert on Medical Physics and/or Radiation Protection This year's lecture presented by Isahel Fisenne marked the 53% Anniversary of the Failla lecture, which honors the memory of Dr. Failla, a Medical Physic pioneer. Other Failla lecturer



- Radhe Mohan, Ph.D. 2009

2015

1965

1998



es at the 2012 lecture, left to right, Francis a Rothenberg, C. Clifton Ling, Jean St. Ger

THE WINNERS OF THE 2016 VACIRCA YIS AWARD

RAMPS VACIRCA YOUNG INVESTIGATOR SYMPOSIUM

Each year RAMPS conducts a Young Investigators Symposium named in honor of Salvatore Vacirca, a past RAMPS President. Young Investigators are encouraged to submit abstracts for the competition. The speaker judged to have made the best presentation is provided funding to attend an AAPM national meeting. Recent winners are

national meeting. Recent winners are						
1st Place	2nd Place	3rd Place	Year			
Ida Haeggstroem*	Reza Farjam*	Irene Zawisza¶	2016			
Jeho Jeong*	Bosky Ravindranath*	Yong Hum Na [†]	2015			
Michael Liu*	Louise Fanchon*	Xin Wang [‡]	2014			
Eric Williams*	Xin Wang [‡]	Oleksandr Dzyubak*	2013			
Ziad Saleh*	Russell Kincaid*	Lili Zhou [‡]	2012			
Sean Berry*,†	Grace Tang*	Rachel M. Bartlett*	2011			
Hans Stabenau*	Matthew Mille [§]	Joseph McNamara*	2010			
* Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center † Columbia University ¶ Montefiore Medical Center						

Mount Sinai Medical Center Recent RAMPS Symposia

2011

2011

RAMPS

2016 New Developments in Radiotherapy 2015 Imaging and Oncology Physics: A Reunion

Adaptive Radiation Therapy

laer Polytechnic Institu

Novel Radiation Detectors and their Applications in Dosimetry, Imaging and Health Physics The Nuclear Accident in Fukushima Japan . Co-sponsored by RAMPS

New York University

Error Prevention and Patient Safety for Radiation Treatment and Diagnosis 60th Anniversary Celebration: Past, Present and Future of Medical Physics Innovation & Implementation: Medical Physics in Cancer Care



CURRENT RAMPS OFFICERS







We would like to thank the following RAMPS members for their contributions to make this poster possible: L. Rothenberg, J. Jeong, Z. Saleh, J. Sillanpaa, J. St. Germain, C. Marshall, D. Fontenla, Y. Pipman, G. Mageras