## HISTORY OF THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN CHAPTER OF AAPM

From

Original

1974

1975

Chapter Origins: The Rocky Mountain Chapter was formed about 1970 by Bill Hendee, Paul Carson and Ed Chaney. Paul and Ed were in their first professional position as assistant professors at the University of Colorado. Paul was hired by Bill to develop a graduate program in medical physics in the department of radiology at the University. Ed was hired to develop an innovative educational program for radiologists and radiologic technicians. Geoff Ibbot, Paul Carson and Ed Chaney were the core physicists working under Bill Hendee's direction. Medical physicists were so scarce in this geographical area that the chapter had to include several surrounding states to meet the minimum number of physicists in a chapter required by AAPM.

Original Chapter area: Colorado, New Mexico, Wyoming, although there were no physicists in the last state at the time.

SKY.

Quiet years: There was little activity in the early years, but there was an informal organization called DAMP (Denver Area Medical Physicists) that would meet occasionally organized by someone at the University of Colorado or Gordon Kenny from Presbyterian Hospital. Dave Taylor and Gordon Kenny worked to keep the chapter alive calling meetings from time to time, in which mostly Colorado-based physicists would meet in the back of Bennett's BBQ house.

Origins of an ACR standard: At one DAMP meeting, and years before ACR addressed the issue of creating a standard, the group decided to use a 4.5 cm lucite phantom and report the mid breast dose for a 50/50 composition using the Rosenstein method. This eventually (after some modification) became the national standard.





Grad students Tony Ho

and Dave Herron

1976 1977 Paul Carson\* Arvid Lundy Francis Harshaw 1979 Roy Summers Richard Lane Frances Harshaw 1981 Richard Lane Isaac Rosen James Hevezi 1983 Geoffrey Ibbott Richard Lane David Wylie 1984 Charles Kelse Richard Lane David Wylie 1985 David Matthe Richard Lane Wesley Wooten 1986 1993 Edward Hendrick Jeffery Williamso David Herron 1994 Edward Hendrick Gerald White\* David Herron 1996 1998 1999 2003 Timoth Johnson 2001 David Herron 2003 2006 Douglas Pfeiffer Donna Siergiej 2007 Shawn Meyer 2009 Steve Jones Douglas Pfieffer 2010 Shawn Meyer 2012 Mike Tallhamme Steve Jones 2013 2015 Yevgeniy Vinogradskiy James Jones/Roy Key Cem Altunbas 2016 2017 Alex Markovi Rebecca Marsh Vikren Sarkar 2018 2018 Erica Kinsey/Kiernan Mccullough Rebecca Marsh Vikren Sarka Bill Hendee, Paul Carson-"Wet Picnic" \* AAPM Past President Rosen Dick Banjavic, Chuck Meyer, Steve Jones, Ann Scherzinger, Paul Carson, Tom V. Oughton. Ultrasound research It allal Ray Rossi first dedicated group at UCMC led by Paul. diagnostic medical Original Chapter officers physicist at UCMC Greg Gibbs, student years First MeV CT-simulator

## RMAAPM OFFICERS OVER TIME:

President/President Elect

William Hendee\*

J. Edward Barnes

Board Rep.

Arvid Lundy

Secretary/Treasurer

John F. Dicello



Dale Fitting, later Ph.D. in acoustics, now in Fairplay, CO. Philip Rouch, MS, long time medical physicist, Henry Ford Hosp., Detroit.

ADIES