Unencrypted | Login

Task Group No. 211 - Classification, Advantages and Limitations of the Auto-Segmentation Approaches for PET
AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information


1. Provide a classification of the PET segmentation methods based on their assumptions, algorithmic approach, detail, complexity and goal. Provide information on the advantages, limitations and applicability of each class of methods based on the limitations imposed by their assumptions and on current literature. Consider the different applications of interest such as "dose painting" or simpler functional volume definition for radiotherapy treatment planning, or volume changes in treatment with PET. 2. Draft a list of minimum requirements which PET segmentation methods should satisfy, as well as acceptance and implementation procedures for these methods. 3. Propose a protocol for evaluation of current and future segmentation methods based on a general framework [39], which will be expanded and adapted to PET imaging [40].

Bylaws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Approved Date(s)Start: 10/13/2010
End: 12/31/2014
Committee Keywords: Image Segmentation Algorithms, PET, Radiation Therapy, TG211
Board of Directors  [Status]
Science Council  [Status]
Therapy Physics  [Status]
Therapy Imaging SC  [Status]
Molecular Imaging in Radiation Oncology Work Group  [Status]
TG211 - Classification, Advantages and Limitations of the Auto-Segmentation Approaches for PET  [Status]
» Active Task Group listing

Assen Kirov
Task Group Chair

Members - 2014 Roster

(dates shown below are beginning date of position)View 2015 Roster

There are 24 members and guests.
Aditya P. Apte

6/26/2013  Member - (nonvoting)
Beatrice Berthon

8/30/2013  Member - (nonvoting)
Curtis B. Caldwell, PhD

1/1/2011  Member -
Shiva K. Das, PhD

10/13/2010  Member -
Elisabetta De Bernardi, PhD

10/19/2010  Member - (nonvoting)
Issam M. El Naqa, PhD

9/20/2011  Member -
Paulina E. Galavis, PhD

6/12/2012  Consultant - (nonvoting)
Xavier Geets

8/30/2013  Consultant - (nonvoting)
Vincent Gregoire, PhD

11/12/2010  Consultant - (nonvoting)
Mathieu Hatt, PhD

10/19/2010  Member - (nonvoting)
Robert . Jeraj, PhD

10/13/2010  Member -
Assen S. Kirov, PhD

10/13/2010  Task Group Chair -
John A. Lee

1/1/2011  Member - (nonvoting)
Wei Lu, PhD

10/13/2010  Member -
Osama R. Mawlawi, PhD

9/20/2011  Member -
Michael McManus

9/26/2011  Consultant - (nonvoting)
Arden D. Nelson, PhD

10/13/2010  Consultant - (nonvoting)
Ursula Nestle

10/19/2010  Consultant - (nonvoting)
Andrei B. Pugachev, PhD

9/26/2011  Consultant - (nonvoting)
Charles R. Schmidtlein, PhD

10/13/2010  Member -
Heiko Schöder

10/21/2010  Consultant - (nonvoting)
Emiliano Spezi

8/30/2013  Member - (nonvoting)
Dimitris Visvikis, PhD

10/13/2010  Member -
Habib Zaidi, PhD

11/15/2011  Consultant - (nonvoting)

Staff Assigned to Committee - 2014 Roster

(dates shown below are beginning date of position)
No Current Members