Encrypted | Login

2018 AAPM Annual Meeting (Nashville TNJuly 29 - August 2) - Request for Proposals (RFP) for Symposia

Symposia and Educational Courses are an important part of the annual AAPM meeting. Scientific symposia, panel discussions, courses, and workshops on emerging and practical topics provide members with valuable opportunities to learn and interact with peers and luminaries. The AAPM Annual Meeting Track Directors would like your input on possible Symposia and Educational Courses for our 2018 meeting in Nashville, TN. These can be scientific, educational, or professional in nature (or a combination):

All AAPM members are encouraged to submit proposals, including members early in their medical physics careers. All of the above programs are eligible to be a SAM session, given the following requirements (click here to see SAM guidelines.) Note: For a session to be designated as SAM, ALL speakers must agree to submit the required information (detailed presentation outline, questions, and references) by the stated deadline. This year we had 87 SAM sessions (up from 73 in 2016), a level which we wish to maintain or increase this year.

To submit an application for a Symposium or Educational Course click here. Please respond by October 5, 2017.

The online application will request the following information for proposals:

  1. Type of session (see list above)
       · Indicate if willing to be SAM by clicking the appropriate box.
  2. Title
  3. General Topic Area (short paragraph; 250 words maximum)
  4. Learning Objectives
  5. Suggested Speakers and/or Moderators (No more than one non-AAPM-member speaker, and preference is for symposia / courses with no more than one speaker from a given institution. Exceptions must be coordinated with the Program Director / Co-Director.)
  6. Vendor-marketed technology related to your session.
  7. Your Contact Information

Please note that your proposal is meant to serve as a suggested topic of interest, along with a recommended list of speakers. All proposals will be reviewed by the AAPM Track Directors, who will make the final selection of topic, content, moderator, and speakers. Selection of proposals will also be based on criteria such as the theme for the 2018 meeting and topics presented in previous years. Not all proposals will be accepted, and some proposals may be combined or re-categorized as deemed necessary by the Annual Meeting Subcommittee. Organizers will be informed early December 2017, and organizers will need to submit an abstract for inclusion in the 2018 AAPM Annual Meeting Program.


Robin L. Stern, PhD, AMSC Chair
Ingrid S. Reiser, PhD, AMSC Vice-Chair

2018 Annual Meeting Program Working Groups

Scientific Program:
Kristy Brock – Workgroup Chair Annual Meeting Scientific Program Working Group
Lei Xing – Therapy Scientific Track Director
Carri Glide-Hurst – Therapy Scientific Track Co-Director
Shuai Leng – Imaging Scientific Track Director
Joseph Stayman – Imaging Scientific Track Co-Director

Education Program:
Tyler Fisher – Workgroup Chair Annual Meeting Education Program Working Group
Rick Layman – Imaging Education Track Director
Georgeta Mihai – Imaging Education Track Co-Director
Stephen Thompson – Therapy Education Track Director
Robin Miller – Therapy Education Program Co-Director
Brian Wang – Practical Track Director

Professional Program:
Jeffrey Limmer – Workgroup Chair Annual Meeting Professional Program Working Group
Eileen Cirino – Professional Program Track Director
Erin Angel – Professional Program Co-Director