Encrypted | Login

2019 AAPM Annual Meeting (San Antonio TXJuly 14 - 18) - Request for Proposals (RFP) for Symposia

Symposia and Educational Courses are an important part of the AAPM Annual Meeting. Scientific symposia, panel discussions, courses, and workshops on emerging and practical topics provide members with valuable opportunities to learn and interact with peers and luminaries. The AAPM Annual Meeting Track Directors would like your input on possible Symposia and Educational Courses for our 2019 meeting in San Antonio, TX. These can be scientific, educational, or professional in nature (or a combination):

All AAPM members are encouraged to submit proposals, including members early in their medical physics careers. The organizing committee may choose to designate any invited symposium to be a SAM session (click here to see SAM guidelines).

To submit an application for a Symposium or Educational Course click here. Please respond by October 5, 2018.

The online application will request the following information for proposals:

  1. Type of session (see list above)
  2. Title
  3. General Topic Area (short paragraph; 250 words maximum)
  4. Learning Objectives
  5. Suggested Speakers and/or Moderators. (No more than one non-AAPM-member speaker, and preference is for symposia / courses with no more than one speaker from a given institution. Exceptions must be coordinated with the Program Director / Co-Director.)
  6. Vendor-marketed technology related to your session.
  7. Your Contact Information
  8. Have you ever organized a session at an AAPM meeting?
  9. Is this session proposed by a formal AAPM group (subcommittee, task group etc)?

Please note that your proposal is meant to serve as a suggested topic of interest, along with a recommended list of speakers. All proposals will be reviewed by the AAPM Track Directors, who will make the final selection of topic, content, moderator, and speakers. Selection of proposals will also be based on criteria such as the theme for the 2019 meeting and topics presented in previous years. Not all proposals will be accepted, and some proposals may be combined or re-categorized as deemed necessary by the Annual Meeting Subcommittee. Organizers will be informed early December 2018, and organizers will need to submit an abstract for inclusion in the 2019 AAPM Annual Meeting Program.


Robin L. Stern, PhD - Chair, Annual Meeting Subcommittee
Ingrid S. Reiser, PhD - Vice-Chair, Annual Meeting Subcommittee

2019 Annual Meeting Program Working Groups

Scientific Program:
Kristy Brock, PhD – Chair, Annual Meeting Scientific Program Working Group
Carri Glide-Hurst, PhD – Therapy Scientific Track Director
Ke Sheng, PhD  – Therapy Scientific Track Co-Director
Joseph Stayman, PhD – Imaging Scientific Track Director
Ioannis Sechopoulos, PhD – Imaging Scientific Track Co-Director

Education Program:
Tyler Fisher, MS – Chair, Annual Meeting Education Program Working Group
Georgeta Mihai, PhD – Imaging Education Track Director
Frank Dong, PhD – Imaging Education Track Co-Director
Robin Miller, MS – Therapy Education Track Director
David Carlson, PhD – Therapy Education Program Co-Director
Brian Wang, PhD – Practical Track Director

Professional Program:
Jeffrey Limmer, MS –Chair, Annual Meeting Professional Program Working Group
Eileen Cirino, MS – Professional Program Track Director 
Erin Angel, PhD – Professional Program Co-Director