Encrypted | Login

Request for Nominations from AAPM for the 2019 IDMP Award


The International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP) represents about 25,000 medical physicists worldwide, 86 adhering national member organizations and 1 affiliate. The mission of IOMP is to advance medical physics practice worldwide by disseminating scientific and technical information, fostering the educational and professional development of medical physicists, and promoting the highest quality medical services for patients.

Annually on November 7, the IOMP promotes the International Day of Medical Physics (IDMP) and encourages national and regional organizations to hold scientific programs to recognize the day. The IOMP offers the IDMP Awards to promote the profession and individual physicists. The 2019 IDMP theme is “It’s a Medical Physics World!”

As a member organization, AAPM is requested to submit nominations for the IDMP Award from the North American region.

The IDMP award and the requirements

See www.iomp.org/ah-information/

The IDMP Award consists of an IOMP certificate. A short biography of the awardee will be published in the IOMP Newsletter Medical Physics World.

Requirements (from the IOMP webpage):

    1. The recipient of the award should be a professional medical physicist holding a master’s or higher degree or equivalent, who is an active member of the relevant Medical Physics society.
    2. The recipient should have taken active part in promoting medical physics, nationally or internationally.
    3. The recipient should have performed original and/or applied work of high scientific quality or made a significant professional contribution to Medical Physics in the past three years.
    4. It may be noted that only deserving candidates will be selected. If no one meets the requirements from the region, no award will be given.

Previous winners

The previous winner (2018 was the first year for the award) from the AAPM/COMP was Caridad Borrás.

AAPM Nominating Procedure

Nominations are to be made to the chair of the AAPM Awards and Honors Committee (A&H), Geoff Ibbott. Self nominations will not be accepted. The deadline for receipt of nominations is August 31, 2019.

The nomination should include the following:

  1. A letter of not more than 1,000 words evaluating the nominee’s achievements and identifying the specific work to be recognized.
  2. A Curriculum Vita including all publications and professional contributions to Medical Physics organizations.

A&H will review the nominations and forward the top-ranked nominations to the AAPM Excom for submission to the IOMP.