Encrypted | Login

Task Group No. 261 - Quality control methodology for low-dose dental and maxillofacial CBCT systems

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information

  • To establish a metholdology for assessment, evaluation and quality control of dental and maxillofacial CBCT imaging systems.  The methology will include detail procedures and techniques for:
    • facility shielding design requirements,
    • image quality testing,
    • dose estimate measurements like ("CTDI-like" or other dose index) and,
    • radiation safety of these systems.
  • This TG will work on homogenizing the variety of individualized tests that are available for each different system in the market.
  • This TG will establish a set of consistent image quality and dose estimate tolerances and guidelines for these systems.
  • Development of routine QC program for these systems.
Bylaws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Approved Date(s)Start: 5/8/2014
End: 12/31/2015
Committee Keywords: TG261
Most recent status update:Lee Goldman received the following report in an email from from Dimitris Mihalidis on November 27. emailed Lee a written report prior to the meeting. Dimitris reports the folliowing:  Membership was in flux with individuals from agencies (FDA) and phantom companies wanting to participate, but that membership is now “complete”.  An outline was constructed; each TG member was given writing assignments and a few members assigned to coordinate and monitor progress. Drafts of some sections were available at the TG meeting for discussion.  The TG intends to complete a draft by AAPM 2017. - [12/16/2016 by Lee Goldman] Click to update.
Board of Directors  [Status]
Science Council  [Status]
Imaging Physics  [Status]
Radiography and Fluoroscopy SC  [Status]
TG261 - Quality control methodology for low-dose dental and maxillofacial CBCT systems  [Status]
» Status Reports from AAPM Groups

Dimitris Mihailidis
Task Group Chair

2018 Roster

(dates shown below are beginning date of position) View 2019 Roster

=complete and up-to-date, =complete, out-of-date, =incomplete conflict of interest statement.
VOTING AppointmentsThere are 13 members and guests.
Ray A. Carlson, MS

12/14/2015  Member
William W. DeForest, MS

6/3/2014  Member
Eric L. Gingold, PhD

7/18/2016  Member
Joel E. Gray, PhD

6/3/2014  Member
Kerry T. Krugh, PhD

9/24/2014  Member
Richard J. Massoth, PhD

11/27/2017  Member
Dimitris N. Mihailidis, PhD

5/8/2014  Task Group Chair
Robert J. Pizzutiello Jr., MS

6/3/2014  Member
John Rong, PhD

7/31/2014  Member
David C. Spelic, PhD

9/6/2016  Member
NON-VOTING Appointments
Kalie Brumbaugh

8/14/2017  Consultant (nonvoting)
Robert Morrison

11/27/2017  Consultant (nonvoting)
Andreas . Stratis, MSc

12/14/2015  Member (nonvoting)

None Appointed