Encrypted | Login

2022 AAPM Annual Meeting (Washington, DCJuly 10 - 14) - Request for Proposals (RFP) for Symposia

Symposia and Educational Courses are an important part of the meeting. Scientific symposia, panel discussions, courses, and workshops on emerging and practical topics provide members with valuable opportunities to learn and interact with peers and leaders of the field. The Program Directors would like your input on possible Symposia and Educational Courses for our 2022 Annual Meeting (July 10 - 14) in Washington, DC. These can be scientific, educational, or professional in nature:

All AAPM members are encouraged to submit proposals, including members early in their medical physics careers. The organizing committee may choose to designate any invited symposium to be a SAM session (click here to see SAM guidelines).

AAPM is closely monitoring the potential impact of COVID-19 on the 2022 Annual Meeting. The current plan is to hold the Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. Invited speakers will be expected to attend the meeting in-person.

Please consider diversity in gender, institution, discipline, and career stage when proposing speakers. We strongly encourage participation of speakers, organizers, and session moderators from underrepresented minorities. Please note that your proposal is meant to serve as a suggested topic of interest, along with a recommended list of speakers.

To submit an application for a Symposium, Educational Course or Partners in Solutions/Guided Tour click here. Please respond by October 13, 2021.

The online application will request the following information for proposals:

  1. Type of session (see list above)
  2. Title
  3. General Topic Area (short paragraph; 250 words maximum)**
  4. Learning Objectives
  5. Suggested Speakers and/or Moderators. (No more than one non-AAPM member speaker, and preference is for symposia / courses with no more than one speaker from a given institution. Exceptions must be coordinated with the Program Director / Co-Director.)
  6. Vendor-marketed technology related to your session.**
  7. Your contact information
  8. Have you ever organized a session at an AAPM meeting?
  9. Is this session proposed by a formal AAPM group (subcommittee, task group etc)?
  10. Is this session proposed by a professional society other than AAPM?

**Required items for the Partners in Solutions/Guided Tours Program Suggestions

All proposals will be reviewed by the Program Directors, who will make the final selection of topic, content, moderators, and speakers. Selection of proposals will also be based on criteria such as the theme for the 2022 meeting and topics presented in previous years, and will consider the potential advancement of a diverse and inclusive professional discipline consistent with the AAPM Diversity and Inclusion Strategic Goal. Not all proposals will be accepted, and some proposals may be combined or re-categorized as deemed necessary by the Annual Meeting Subcommittee. Submitters will be informed of their submission outcome in December 2021, and organizers of an accepted proposal will need to submit an abstract for inclusion in the 2022 Annual Meeting Program.


Ingrid S. Reiser, PhD – Chair, Annual Meeting Subcommittee
Kristy Brock, PhD – Vice-Chair, Annual Meeting Subcommittee

2022 Annual Meeting Program Working Groups

Scientific Program:
Carri Glide-Hurst, PhD – Chair, Annual Meeting Scientific Program Working Group
Amit Sawant, PhD – Therapy Scientific Program Director
Stephen Bowen, PhD – Therapy Scientific Program Co-Director
Wojciech Zbijewski, PhD – Imaging Scientific Program Director
Xiangyang Tang, PhD – Imaging Scientific Program Co-Director
Bryan Bednarz, PhD
– Specialty Program Co-Director
William Erwin, MS – Specialty Program Co-Director

Education Program:
Tyler Fisher, MS – Chair, Annual Meeting Education Program Working Group
Matthew Vanderhoek, PhD – Imaging Education Program Director
Kai Yang, PhD – Imaging Education Program Co-Director
Laura Cervino, PhD – Therapy Education Program Director
Hania Al-Hallaq, PhD – Therapy Education Program Co-Director

Professional Program:
Eileen Cirino, MS – Chair, Annual Meeting Professional Program Working Group
Michelle Wells, MS – Professional Program Director
Carnell Hampton, PhD – Professional Program Co-Director

Technical Exhibit/Vendor Program:
Deborah Schofield, PhD – Chair, Technical Exhibits Sub-Committee