Encrypted | Login

Working Group on Radioactive Microspheres (RMWG)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information

  1. Guidelines and Recommendations: Review radioactive microspheres clinical practices and address emerging scientific and clinical topics.
  2. Knowledge and education: Summarize knowledge about general principles and rationale for radioactive microspheres. Identify opportunities for and timely implement education and training initiatives.
  3. Repository: Review published materials on radionuclide labeled microspheres and develop a repository of abstracts. Coordinate with clinical trial groups, such as IROC Houston, to document consensus dosimetry data for radioactive microsphere dosimetry.
  4. Clinical translation: Organize, review and disseminate known practices on clinical translations of radioactive microspheres.
  5. Communication: Serve as an ongoing central resource and conduit for multi-disciplinary professional organizations, regulatory bodies, vendors, standards labs and the international community relating to recommended guidelines, best practices, and future directions for research and development of radioactive microspheres.
  6. Coordination: Oversee and direct AAPM efforts related to radioactive microspheres. Specifically, create and advise Task Groups, Medical Physics Practice Guidelines and other AAPM initiatives, as deemed necessary, with the changes in the clinical practice of radioactive microspheres.
  7. Innovation: Support new developments in the field of Radioactive Microspheres. Such developments are likely in the areas of microsphere delivery and design, dosimetry, imaging and activity quantification to list a few examples.
By-Laws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Standing?This is not a standing committee.
Approved Date(s):11/5/2021
Committee Keywords: No Keywords Entered

Reed Selwyn
Workgroup Chair

2024 Roster

(dates shown below are start and end dates of position.)

= complete and up-to-date
= up-to-date but expires soon
= incomplete or out of date conflict of interest statement.

VOTING AppointmentsThere are 17 voting members.

up-to-dateShirin Abbasinejad Enger

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateMuthana S.A. L. Al-Ghazi, PhD

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateNathan C. Busse, MS

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateYuni K. Dewaraja

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateWilliam A. Dezarn, PhD

5/25/2023 - 12/31/2025 Work Group Vice Chair

up-to-dateVanessa L. Gates, MS

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateStephen A. Graves Ph.D.

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateRobert F. Hobbs, PhD

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateNichole M. Maughan, PhD

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateMahta M. McKee, MS

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateZoubir Ouhib, MS

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateTarun K. Podder, PhD

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateAndrew M. Polemi

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateReed G. Selwyn, PhD

5/25/2023 - 12/31/2025 Workgroup Chair

up-to-dateWendy Siman, PhD

6/17/2024 - 12/31/2027 Chair,  Task Group No. 378 - Safety, treatment planning, and quantitative pre- and post- (ex officio)

up-to-dateJennifer R. Stickel, PhD

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateLeonard W. Zimmermann, MS

11/5/2021 - 12/31/2024 Member
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 0 non-voting members and guests.
HQ Team Appointed to CommitteeThere are 0 staff.

See connections to Working Group on Radioactive Microspheres