Encrypted | Login

State Champions Steering Subcommittee (CHAMPSC)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information

This subcommittee will manage the network of AAPM State Champions for state and federal (when applicable) grass-roots advocacy efforts. CHAMPSC will be responsible for reviewing and approving volunteers according to the State Champion eligibility criteria, and maintaining the working group with the current list of who is serving as a State Champion.
The subcommittee will work with GRAC and the AAPM Government Relations Manager to develop and maintain resources needed by the State Champions to successfully perform their activities. CHAMPSC will establish advocacy objectives for the State Champions that support AAPM’s strategic goals. The State Champion activities may include:
  1. Inform GRAC and AAPM about any regulatory or legislative development that might have a potential impact on the practice of medical physics.
  2. Engage and network with all relevant stakeholders (AAPM members, Chapters, GRAC, and other societies when applicable) to mobilize members to support or not support state legislation and regulations that might impact healthcare.
  3. Engage with elected officials and their staff in support of medical physicists’ activities and provide testimony at Committee, House, or Senate hearings.
  4. Call, message, or tweet their elected officials using the VoterVOICE advocacy program.
  5. Help introduce new state legislation or petition for rulemaking changes that would benefit the practice of medical physics for the state.
  6. Support or interface with state advisory boards (when applicable).  
By-Laws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Standing?This is not a standing committee.
Approved Date(s):3/20/2024
Committee Keywords: No Keywords Entered

None on file.

2024 Roster

(dates shown below are start and end dates of position.)

= complete and up-to-date
= up-to-date but expires soon
= incomplete or out of date conflict of interest statement.

VOTING AppointmentsThere are 2 voting members.

up-to-dateMax Amurao, PhD

3/20/2024 - 12/31/2026 Vice Chair,  Government and Regulatory Affairs (ex officio)

up-to-dateSebastien A. Gros, PhD

3/20/2024 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Government and Regulatory Affairs (ex officio)
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 0 non-voting members and guests.
HQ Team Appointed to CommitteeThere are 3 staff.

up-to-dateDavid P. Crowley

3/20/2024 - 12/31/2037 Senior Government Relations Manager (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateLisa Schober, MS

3/20/2024 - 12/31/2037 Senior Governance and Executive Office Manager (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateJustin M. Stewart, BS

3/20/2024 - 12/31/2037 Director, Programs (ex officio, nonvoting)

See connections to State Champions Steering Subcommittee (CHAMPSC)