Encrypted | Login

Medical Physics Licensure and Regulatory Recognition Subcommittee (JMPLSC)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information


The charge of this joint subcommittee is to make available resources to aid the adoption of Medical Physics professional licensure in the United States of America. The Joint Medical Physics Licensure Subcommittee shall:

  1. Coordinate the efforts of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) and the American College of Medical Physics (ACMP) toward a common position and strategy in support of medical physics professional licensure.
  2. Develop recommended minimum standards for state licensure laws.
  3. Develop recommendations containing background information, suggested strategy, and a suggested Medical Physics Licensure Act and Rules, for use by medical physicists and others engaged in promoting the passage of a medical physics licensure law in a US state or commonwealth.
  4. Annually prepare a report, beginning in May 2007, describing the status of state licensure efforts and providing recommendations for the AAPM’s and ACMP’s continued roles in promoting licensure.
Bylaws:Not Referenced.Rules: Not Referenced.
Approved Date(s)n/a
Committee Keywords: JMPLSC

Board of Directors
Administrative Council  [Status]
Government and Regulatory Affairs  [Status]
Medical Physics Licensure and Regulatory Recognition SC  [Status]
Unit No. 18 - Massachusetts State  [Status]

» Status Reports for Task Groups - AC | EC | IC | PC | SC | Board Committees | All

Herbert Mower
Committee Chair

2021 Roster

(dates shown below are start and end dates of position.)

=complete and up-to-date, =incomplete conflict of interest statement.
VOTING AppointmentsThere are 11 voting members.

up-to-dateTewfik J. Bichay, PhD

10/9/2018 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateCarla D. Bradford, PhD

9/13/2021 - 12/31/2024 Chair,  Unit No. 18 - Massachusetts State (ex officio)

up-to-dateMichael S. Curry, MS

10/9/2018 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateRyan D. Foster, PhD

10/9/2018 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-datePer H. Halvorsen, MS

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021 Chair,  Unit No. 18 - Massachusetts State (ex officio)

up-to-dateSunyoung Jang, PhD

10/9/2018 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateLalith Kumaraswamy, PhD

7/30/2019 - 12/31/2022 Committee Vice Chair

up-to-dateHerbert W. Mower, ScD

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2021 Committee Chair

up-to-dateJatinder Saini, PhD, MBA

10/9/2018 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateJussi K. Sillanpaa, PhD

10/9/2018 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateXiaohong Joe Zhou, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2023 Member
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 0 non-voting members and guests.
HQ Team Appointed to CommitteeThere are 1 staff.

up-to-dateRichard J. Martin, JD

1/5/2015 - 12/31/2037 Government Relations Manager (ex officio, nonvoting)

See connections to Medical Physics Licensure and Regulatory Recognition Subcommittee