Encrypted | Login

Therapy Physics (TPC)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information


The Therapy Physics Committee (TPC) is a committee of the Science Council and has direct authority and responsibility over all AAPM scientific activities pertaining to radiation therapy physics. The Therapy Physics Committee will achieve the following broad goals primarily through its Subcommittees, Working Groups and Task Groups. 1. Improve the accuracy and consistency of radiation therapy and other medical interventions through development and publication of scientific, technical and educational documents. 2. Improve therapeutic medical interventions through research in medical physics and promote scientific research in therapy applications of medical physics within AAPM. 3. Provide guidance to outside agencies and organizations relative to the scientific and clinical interests of AAPM membership. 4. Remain aware of developments from and collaborate with outside organizations.

Bylaws:Not Referenced.Rules: 3.8.1
Approved Date(s)n/a
Committee Keywords: TPC

Jean Moran
Committee Chair

2018 Roster

(dates shown below are beginning date of position)

=complete and up-to-date, =incomplete conflict of interest statement.
VOTING AppointmentsThere are 21 voting members.

up-to-dateIndrin J. Chetty, PhD

1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 Member

up-to-dateJeffrey T. Colvin, MS

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Chair,  Radiation Protection Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateSonja Dieterich, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Committee Vice Chair

up-to-dateLei Dong, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Chair,  Treatment Delivery Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateDavid S. Followill, PhD

1/1/2011 - 12/31/2019 Liaison - The Imaging and Radiation Oncology Core (IROC) Group (ex officio)

up-to-dateEric C. Ford, PhD

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 Member

up-to-dateGeoffrey D. Hugo, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Chair,  Therapy Imaging Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateAndrew Jackson, PhD

1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 Chair,  Biological Effects Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateRobert Jeraj, PhD

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 Liaison - Research Committee

up-to-dateSiyong Kim, PhD

1/1/2013 - 12/31/2018 Member

up-to-dateKatja M. Langen, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Member

up-to-dateMoyed Miften, PhD

1/1/2014 - 12/31/2019 Chair,  Radiation Dosimetry & Treatment Planning Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateJean M. Moran Ph.D., PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Committee Chair

up-to-dateJennifer C. O'Daniel, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Member

up-to-dateZoubir Ouhib, MS

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Chair,  Brachytherapy Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateJan P. Seuntjens, PhD

1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 Member

up-to-dateRobin L. Stern, PhD

1/1/2015 - 12/31/2020 Chair,  Quality Assurance and Outcome Improvement Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateBruce R. Thomadsen, PhD

4/11/2018 - 12/31/2020 Member

up-to-dateRonald E. Tosh, PhD

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2021 Chair,  Calibration Laboratory Accreditation Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-datePing Xia, PhD

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 Member

up-to-dateX. Ronald Zhu, PhD

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 Member
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 9 non-voting members and guests.

up-to-dateMaryann O. Ayoade, MS

1/1/2015 - 12/31/2020 Liaison - NRC Representative (nonvoting)

up-to-dateJacek Capala, PhD

3/22/2012 - 12/31/2020 Liaison - NCI (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateAlan B. Cohen, MS

1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 Liaison - IEC (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateElizabeth Huynh, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2018 Guest - Jean Moran''s SCAMP Mentee (nonvoting)

up-to-dateGrace Gwe-Ya Kim, PhD

11/15/2018 - 12/31/2018 Guest (nonvoting)

up-to-dateCynthia H. McCollough, PhD

10/24/2018 - 12/31/2018 President-Elect (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateMichael G. Mitch, PhD

3/2/2010 - 12/31/2019 Liaison - National Institute of Standards & Technology (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateDeborah G. van der Merwe, PhD

3/26/2018 - 12/31/2020 Liaison - IAEA (nonvoting)

up-to-dateYing Xiao, PhD

7/3/2014 - 12/31/2019 Liaison - NRG (ex officio, nonvoting)
STAFF Appointed to CommitteeThere are 1 staff.

up-to-dateShayna Knazik, BA

12/24/2014 - 12/31/2037 Programs Manager (ex officio, nonvoting)

Individual Appointments
the individuals listed below report to, but are not necessarily members of, this committee as individual appointments
Rivard, Mark J.  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     1/1/2008-12/31/2018 Brachytherapy Physics Representative, European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology
Culberson, Wesley S.  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     1/1/2015-12/31/2018 Liaison to IEC 62 C (USNC), International Electrotechnical Commission
Miften, Moyed  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     1/1/2015-12/31/2018 Representative- Therapy, Imaging and Radiation Oncology Core
Pfeiffer, Douglas E.  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     1/1/2012-12/31/2018 Liaison to IEC 62 C (USNC), International Electrotechnical Commission