Encrypted | Login

Imaging Physics Committee (IPC)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information

ActivitiesThe IPC is a committee of the Science Council and has direct authority and responsibility over all AAPM scientific activities pertaining to diagnostic medical imaging. The IPC is designed to implement and advance the science of imaging physics through its own actions and in consultation with an extensive structure of subcommittees. The IPC has as its core mission the promotion, dissemination and advancement of physical and computational principles as applied to the broad field of medical imaging, computer aided detection and diagnosis, disease screening, technical advancements, and quality assurance.
By-Laws:Not Referenced.Rules: 3.10.2
Standing?This is a standing committee.
Approved Date(s):n/a
Committee Keywords: Diagnostic Imaging, IP, IPC

Ioannis Sechopoulos
Committee Chair

2024 Roster

(dates shown below are start and end dates of position.)

= complete and up-to-date
= up-to-date but expires soon
= incomplete or out of date conflict of interest statement.

VOTING AppointmentsThere are 22 voting members.

up-to-dateTrevor J. Andrews, PhD

1/1/2024 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Magnetic Resonance Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateMagdalena Bazalova-Carter, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateNicholas B. Bevins, PhD

6/24/2024 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Working Group for facilitating the adoption of IPC TG Reports (WGATG) (ex officio)
1/1/2024 - 12/31/2026 Member

up-to-dateNathan C. Busse, MS

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2026 Member

up-to-dateJessica Clements, MS

10/30/2020 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Radiological Protection Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateJaydev K. Dave, PhD

1/1/2024 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Radiography and Fluoroscopy Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateGrace Jianan Gang, PhD

5/10/2024 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Cone-beam CT Subcommittee (CBCTSC) (ex officio)

up-to-dateLubomir Hadjiiski, PhD

7/1/2019 - 12/31/2025 Chair,  Computer Aided Image Analysis Subcommittee (ex officio)
7/2/2019 - 12/31/2025 Chair,  Computer Aided Image Analysis Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateTian Liu, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2025 Chair,  Ultrasound Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateUsman Mahmood, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateJames G. Mainprize, PhD

1/1/2024 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Breast X-Ray Imaging Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateOsama R. Mawlawi, PhD

1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024 Chair,  Nuclear Medicine Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateCynthia H. McCollough, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2026 Member

up-to-dateSarah E. McKenney, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Pediatric Imaging Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateRebecca Milman, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateIngrid S. Reiser, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateIoannis Sechopoulos, PhD

7/12/2024 - 12/31/2024 Chair,  Working Group on the Physics of Quantitative Imaging (WGPQI) (ex officio)
1/1/2021 - 12/31/2026 Committee Chair

up-to-dateMark P. Supanich, PhD

1/25/2023 - 12/31/2025 Chair,  Working Group on Radiation Dose Index Monitoring Software Data (WGRDIMD) (ex officio)

up-to-dateKevin A. Wunderle, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2026 Committee Vice Chair

up-to-dateLifeng Yu, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Computed Tomography Subcommittee (ex officio)
1/1/2021 - 12/31/2026 Liaison to - Research Committee (ex officio)

up-to-dateHabib Zaidi, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2024 Member

up-to-dateDa Zhang, PhD

1/1/2024 - 12/31/2026 Chair,  Imaging Informatics Subcommittee (ex officio)
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 19 non-voting members and guests.

up-to-dateSamuel G. Armato III, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2024 Guest Computer Aided Image Analysis Subcommittee - Vice Chair (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateMagdalena Bazalova-Carter, PhD

9/14/2021 - 12/31/2024 Liaison to - Therapy Physics Committee (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateKirsten Lee Boedeker, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2024 Guest - MITA Representative (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateStephen R. Bowen, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2024 Guest Nuclear Medicine Subcommittee - Vice Chair (nonvoting)

up-to-dateChristina Brunnquell, PhD

4/29/2024 - 12/31/2026 Guest Magnetic Resonance Subcommittee - Vice Chair (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-datePeter F. Caracappa, PhD

5/20/2022 - 12/31/2024 Guest Radiological Protection Subcommittee - Vice Chair (nonvoting)

up-to-dateJessica Clements, MS

4/15/2024 - 12/31/2024 Liaison Radiopharmaceutical Therapy Subcommittee (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateThomas M. Cummings

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2024 Guest Pediatric Imaging Subcommittee - Vice Chair (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateEric L. Gingold, PhD

1/1/2022 - 12/31/2025 Guest - Deputy Editor (IPC), MedPhys (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateJohn H. Lewis, PhD

8/30/2018 - 12/31/2024 Liaison - Therapy Imaging Subcommittee (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateZaiyang Long, PhD

1/1/2021 - 12/31/2024 Guest Ultrasound Subcommittee - Vice Chair (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateSarah E. McKenney, PhD

5/10/2024 - 12/31/2026 Guest Cone-beam CT Subcommittee (CBCTSC) - Vice Chair (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateRebecca Milman, PhD

1/1/2024 - 12/31/2024 Guest Working Group on Radiation Dose Index Monitoring Software Data (WGRDIMD) - Vice Chair (nonvoting)

up-to-dateCourtney K. Morrison, PhD

4/3/2024 - 12/31/2024 Guest Radiography and Fluoroscopy Subcommittee - Vice Chair (nonvoting)

up-to-dateDavid A. Scaduto, PhD

4/1/2024 - 12/31/2024 Guest Breast X-Ray Imaging Subcommittee - Vice Chair (nonvoting)

up-to-dateMark P. Supanich, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2024 Guest Computed Tomography Subcommittee - Vice Chair (ex officio, nonvoting)
4/1/2024 - 12/31/2024 Guest Computer Aided Image Analysis Subcommittee - Vice Chair (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateVirginia Tsapaki, PhD

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2024 Consultant - IAEA Liaison to IPC (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateAlisa I. Walz-Flannigan, PhD

8/19/2021 - 12/31/2024 Vice Chair,  Imaging Informatics Subcommittee (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateTroy Zhou, PhD

5/25/2021 - 12/31/2026 Guest Imaging Practice Accreditation Subcommittee - Chair (ex officio, nonvoting)
HQ Team Appointed to CommitteeThere are 1 staff.

up-to-dateShana Donchatz

7/9/2020 - 12/31/2037 Programs Manager (ex officio, nonvoting)

Individual Appointments
the individuals listed below report to, but are not necessarily members of, this committee as individual appointments
Sensakovic, William F.  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     7/7/2022-12/31/2024 Image Wisely Representative, Radiological Society of North America
McKenney, Sarah E.  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     5/1/2022-12/31/2024 Image Gently Representative, American College of Radiology

See connections to Imaging Physics Committee