Encrypted | Login

Therapy Physics Committee (TPC)

AAPM Members, Affiliates and Non-Member Affiliates - Login for access to additional information


The Therapy Physics Committee (TPC) is a committee of the Science Council and has direct authority and responsibility over all AAPM scientific activities pertaining to radiation therapy physics. The Therapy Physics Committee will achieve the following broad goals primarily through its Subcommittees, Working Groups and Task Groups.

  1. Improve the accuracy and consistency of radiation therapy and other medical interventions through development and publication of scientific, technical and educational documents.
  2. Improve therapeutic medical interventions through research in medical physics and promote scientific research in therapy applications of medical physics within AAPM.
  3. Provide guidance to outside agencies and organizations relative to the scientific and clinical interests of AAPM membership.
  4. Remain aware of developments from and collaborate with outside organizations.

Bylaws:Not Referenced.Rules: 3.10.1
Approved Date(s)n/a
Committee Keywords: TPC

Jean Moran
Committee Chair

2020 Roster

(dates shown below are start and end dates of position.)

=complete and up-to-date, =incomplete conflict of interest statement.
VOTING AppointmentsThere are 25 voting members.

up-to-dateQuan Chen, PhD

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2022 Member

up-to-dateIndrin J. Chetty, PhD

1/1/2017 - 12/31/2022 Member

up-to-dateSonja Dieterich, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Committee Vice Chair

up-to-dateSean A. Dresser, MS

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2022 Member

up-to-dateDavid S. Followill, PhD

1/1/2011 - 12/31/2020 Liaison - The Imaging and Radiation Oncology Core (IROC) Group (ex officio)

up-to-dateSebastien A. Gros, PhD

10/30/2020 - 12/31/2023 Vice Chair,  Radiological Protection Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateRobert F. Hobbs, PhD

6/5/2020 - 12/31/2022 Member

up-to-dateGeoffrey D. Hugo, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2023 Chair,  Therapy Imaging Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateAndrew Jackson, PhD

1/1/2017 - 12/31/2020 Chair,  Biological Effects Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateRobert Jeraj, PhD

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2021 Liaison - Research Committee

up-to-dateGrace Gwe-Ya Kim, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateSiyong Kim, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021 Chair,  Treatment Delivery Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateStephen F. Kry, PhD

4/22/2019 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateKatja M. Langen, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2023 Member

up-to-dateCharles S. Mayo, PhD

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2022 Chair,  SC263 - Standardized Categorizations and Nomenclatures Supporting Clinical and (ex officio)

up-to-dateDimitris N. Mihailidis, PhD

12/30/2019 - 12/31/2020 Member

up-to-dateJean M. Moran, PhD

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 Committee Chair

up-to-dateFiras Mourtada, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021 Member

up-to-dateZoubir Ouhib, MS

1/1/2018 - 12/31/2023 Chair,  Brachytherapy Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateLeah K. Schubert, PhD

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2022 Member

up-to-dateRobin L. Stern, PhD

1/1/2015 - 12/31/2020 Chair,  Quality Assurance and Outcome Improvement Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateBruce R. Thomadsen, PhD

4/11/2018 - 12/31/2020 Member

up-to-dateRowan M. Thomson, PhD

1/1/2019 - 12/31/2020 Member

up-to-dateRonald E. Tosh, PhD

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2021 Chair,  Calibration Laboratory Accreditation Subcommittee (ex officio)

up-to-dateYevgeniy Vinogradskiy, PhD

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2022 Chair,  Radiation Dosimetry & Treatment Planning Subcommittee (ex officio)
NON-VOTING AppointmentsThere are 11 non-voting members and guests.

up-to-dateMaryann O. Ayoade, MS

1/1/2015 - 12/31/2020 Liaison - NRC Representative (nonvoting)

up-to-dateJacek Capala, PhD

3/22/2012 - 12/31/2020 Liaison - NCI (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateMaria F. Chan, PhD

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2020 Guest (nonvoting)

up-to-dateAlan B. Cohen, MS

1/1/2017 - 12/31/2022 Liaison - IEC (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateDimitre Hristov, PhD

1/24/2020 - 12/31/2020 Guest (nonvoting)

up-to-dateM. Saiful Huq, PhD

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2020 President (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateMichael G. Mitch, PhD

3/2/2010 - 12/31/2020 Liaison - National Institute of Standards & Technology (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateKevin L. Moore

6/12/2020 - 12/31/2020 Guest (nonvoting)

up-to-dateMihaela Rosu-Bubulac, PhD

1/1/2020 - 12/31/2020 Guest (nonvoting)

up-to-dateDeborah G. van der Merwe, PhD

3/26/2018 - 12/31/2020 Consultant - IAEA Liaison (ex officio, nonvoting)

up-to-dateYing Xiao, PhD

7/3/2014 - 12/31/2022 Liaison - NRG (ex officio, nonvoting)
HQ Team Appointed to CommitteeThere are 1 staff.

up-to-dateJill Moton

5/24/2019 - 12/31/2037 Programs Manager (ex officio, nonvoting)

Individual Appointments
the individuals listed below report to, but are not necessarily members of, this committee as individual appointments
Ibbott, Geoffrey S.  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     1/1/2005-12/31/2021 Delegate to IEC 62 C (USNC), International Electrotechnical Commission
Pawlicki, Todd  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     6/19/2015-12/31/2020 Radiation Oncology Safety Committee, European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology
Kim, Grace Gwe-Ya  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     11/16/2020-12/31/2021 Representative- Therapy, Imaging and Radiation Oncology Core
Rivard, Mark J.  - [conflict of interest information]       [Individual appointment reports summary]
     1/1/2008-12/31/2020 Brachytherapy Physics Representative, European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology

See connections to Therapy Physics Committee