Encrypted | Login

The mission of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine is to advance the science, education and professional practice of Medical Physics; a broad-based scientific and professional discipline which encompasses physical principles with applications in biology and medicine. With 8876 members in 97 countries, AAPM supports the Medical Physics community with a focus on advancing patient care through education, improving safety and efficacy of radiation oncology and medical imaging procedures through research, and the maintenance of professional standards. AAPM has a staff of 28 and an annual budget of 11.5M, and is located at 1631 Prince Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.

AAPM publishes two scholarly journals Medical Physics, and the Journal of Applied Clinical Medical Physics (JACMP), as well as an AAPM Report Series. AAPM sponsors three scientific meetings each year, a spring clinical meeting, a main summer annual meeting, and a fall scientific meeting (joint with the Radiological Society of North America). AAPM membership information and application forms are available online.

2016 AAPM Executive CommitteeThe 2016 AAPM Executive Committee

from left to right:

Todd Pawlicki, PhD, FAAPM - Secretary
Mahadevappa Mahesh, PhD, FAAPM, FACMP - Treasurer
Bruce H. Curran, MEng, FAAPM, FACMP - Chair of the Board
Melissa Carol Martin, MS, FAAPM, FACMP - President
Bruce R. Thomadsen, PhD, FAAPM - President-Elect
Angela R. Keyser - AAPM Executive Director

The Presidential Chain...

A candidate is elected to President-Elect Designate and moves to President-Elect on January 1 the following year. At that same time, President-Elect moves to President and President moves to Chair of the Board and Chair of the Board rotates off the Board.

President-Elect Designate
not yet elected.

Bruce Thomadsen

Melissa Carol Martin

Chair of Board
Bruce Curran